vineri, 25 aprilie 2014

Movies based on Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Movies based on Gabriel García Márquez novels

Gabriel García Márquez  (6 March 1927 – 17 April 2014) was a Colombian novelist, short-story writer, screenwriter and journalist.


Tiempo de morir [Time to die] 1966, director: Arturo Ripstein, writer:
Gabriel García Márquez

La viuda de Montiel [The widow Montiel ] 1979 (based on the novel of the same name from 1962), Mexico, Colombia, Venezuela & Cuba, director & writer: Miguel Littin

María de mi corazón [Mary my dearest] 1979, Mexico, director & writer: Jaime Humberto Hermosillo, co-writer: Gabriel García Márquez

Eréndira 1983 (based on the novel ‘The incredible and sad tale of innocent Eréndira and her souless grandmother’ (La increíble y triste historia de la cándida Eréndira y de su abuela desalmada) from 1972), France, Mexico & West Germany, director: Ruy Guerra, writer: Gabriel García Márquez

Farewell to the ark [さらば箱舟 / Saraba hakobune] 1984 (based on the novel ‘One hundred years of solitude’ from 1967), Japan, director & writer: Shûji Terayama

Cronaca di una morte annunciata [Chronicle of a death foretold] 1987 (based on the novel of the same name from 1981), Italy, France & Colombia, director & writer: Francesco Rosi

El verano de la señora Forbes [The summer of Miss Forbes] 1989 (based on the novel of the same name from 1976), Cuba, Mexico & Spain, director & writer: Jaime Humberto Hermosillo

Un señor muy viejo con unas alas enormes [A very old man with enormous
wings] 1988, Cuba, Italy & Spain, director & co-writer: Fernando Birri, co-writer: Gabriel García Márquez

El coronel no tiene quien le escriba [No one writes to the colonel] 1999 (based on the eponymous novella of the same name from 1961), Mexico, France & Spain, director: Arturo Ripstein

O veneno da madrugada [In evil hour] 2006 (based on the novel of the same name from 1962; Spanish title: La mala hora), Brazil, Argentina & Portugal, director & writer: Ruy Guerra

El amor en los tiempos del cólera [Love in the time of cholera] 2007 (based on the novel of the same name from 1985), USA, director: Mike Newell 

Del amor y otros demonios [Of love and other demons] 2009 (based on the novel of the same name from 1994), Costa Rica & Columbia, director & writer: Hilda Hidalgo

Dead man's coughing [Kaszel umarlaka] 2009 (inspired by the short story ‘Muerte constante más allá del amor’), Poland, director & writer:   Krzysztof Borówka

Lecciones para un beso 2011, Columbia, director & writer: Juan Pablo Bustamante (Gabriel García Márquez as script doctor)

Memoria de mis putas tristes [Memories of my melancholy whores] 2011 (based on the novel of the same name from 2004), Mexico, Spain, Denmark & USA, director & co-writer: Henning Carlsen

Did you know that Gabriel García Márquez novel ‘Of love and other demonswas adapted by Hungarian composer Péter Eötvös to form the opera Love and other demons, premiered in 2008 at Glyndebourne Festival?

Did you know that in 1995, Graciela Daniele adapted the novel ‘Cronaca di una morte annunciata’ (Chronicle of a death foretold) into the Tony Award-nominated Broadway musical of the same name, which she also directed and choreographed.
A Romanian short-film was made in 2007.